A Successful Return of the Arts Awards!

On Wednesday, May 1, 2019, nearly 200 people gathered at the Nyack Seaport to celebrate the Rockland County arts community at the long-awaited return of the Arts Council of Rockland’s Arts Awards.

Daly Flanagan, executive director of Rockland Center for the Arts; Elliott Forrest, artistic/executive director of ArtsRock and Peabody Award winning producer and broadcaster at WQXR radio; and C. Scott Vanderhoef, arts advocate and former County Executive (1994-2013) were honored at the event. County Legislator, the Honorable Harriet Cornell presented each with Distinguished Service Awards from the Rockland County Legislature, and New York State Assemblyman Ken Zebrowski was also in attendance to present certificates for the honorees’ contributions to the arts in Rockland County.

After a vote of the membership, the anticipated announcement of the Arts Awards yielded the following results:

  • Arts Leadership Award - Diana Green, Children’s Shakespeare Theatre

  • Arts Educator Award - Performing Arts Department of Rockland Community College

  • Visual Artist Award - Lisa D’Amico, PhD

  • Performing Artist Award - Peter Furlan

  • Literary Artist Award - Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

In addition, a heartfelt presentation by Arts Council of Rockland board member and Arts Awards event chair, Maria Daggett-Eskinazi preceded the awarding of the ARS Longa Award to Stefan Waldman, an omnipresent force in the Rockland music scene, who passed away earlier this year.

When asked why it was so important for the Arts Awards to make a comeback, executive director Cheryl Baun noted, “The feeling of camaraderie was so palpable in the room. Members of the arts community are so supportive of one another. To have this time and this space to celebrate each other is critical. There’s something very special about being recognized by your peers.”

Congratulations to all of the honorees, awardees, and nominees!