A Successful Return of the Arts Awards!

A Successful Return of the Arts Awards!

On Wednesday, May 1, 2019, nearly 200 people gathered at the Nyack Seaport to celebrate the Rockland County arts community at the long-awaited return of the Arts Council of Rockland’s Arts Awards.

Daly Flanagan, executive director of Rockland Center for the Arts; Elliott Forrest, artistic/executive director of ArtsRock and Peabody Award winning producer and broadcaster at WQXR radio; and C. Scott Vanderhoef, arts advocate and former County Executive (1994-2013) were honored at the event.

Announcing the 2019 Arts Awards Nominees...


The Arts Council of Rockland is thrilled to announce the nominees for the 2019 Arts Awards!

Nominations were received through an open nominations process. All nominations are anonymous to protect the integrity of the process. Winners will be determined through a voting process by the ACOR membership. Nominees have been invited to attend the Arts Awards on May 1 at The Nyack Seaport, at which the winners will be announced.

Voting is now OPEN! Anyone who is a member of the Arts Council of Rockland may vote. Please read about each nominee and cast your vote.

Please JOIN US on May 1 to celebrate all of these incredible nominees! Ticket information and other details can be found here.



Nina Berlingeri

Diana Green

Performing Arts Department at Rockland Community College

Michael Porfido

Kelly Quartironi

Jim Shaughnessy

Stage Left Children’s Theater

Freia Titland



Children’s Shakespeare Theatre

Haverstraw Riverwide Arts

Maureen’s Jazz Cellar

Donna Davies Timm

Patricia Zippilli



Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

A Anupama

Jane Marino

Angelo Parra

James Ramsay



Peter Furlan

Freia Titland

Dr. Debra Weiss



Kris Campbell

Kristian Comer

Lisa D’Amico

Lisa Levart

Freia Titland


Rockland Grantees' Networking Breakfast

On Thursday, March 21, 2019, the Rockland recipients of the Arts Alive grants program, administered by ArtsWestchester and made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts, gathered at the Arts Council of Rockland for a networking breakfast. Grants were made in three categories: Community Projects, Individual Artists, and Arts Education.

Participants shared information about their respective projects, which ranged from an interactive theater piece by Tolstoy to musical theater classes for adults with developmental disabilities, from original songs based on interviews with people affected by war to “memoirs in a bottle” created by 8th graders based on stories told to them by senior citizens. Grantees talked about their process and the impact of their projects, both on the artists and on their audiences. The group shared resources and learnings with each other.

Below is the full list of Rockland grantees for 2019:

  • Chiku Awali African Dance, Arts, and Culture

  • Dennis P. McHugh Piermont Public Library

  • Haverstraw RiverArts Fund

  • Nyack Library

  • Piermont Straus Foundation, Inc

  • River River Writers Circle

  • Rockland Camerata

  • Rockland County Pride Center

  • Threefold Educational Foundation & School

  • West Third Street Dance/Debra Weiss Dance Company

  • Arlene Sorensen

  • Jeffrey Friedberg

  • C. A. MacFinn

  • Craig Smith

  • Fereshta Ramsey

  • John Morton

  • Peter Strasser

Congratulations, once again, to all of the recipients of the grants! They make Rockland proud! Please be sure to check our Arts Calendar for the upcoming events of the funded projects. Stay tuned for details on the next cycle of Arts Alive grants sometime this summer.